Reviewers Might Want to Get Savvy on This…

I find this article a little disturbing on a couple of levels. I interact with a few authors’ closed groups on Facebook for the book discussions, news about upcoming releases, and general camaraderie. I also review books via Net Galley sometimes. With these changes, Amazon is effectively silencing my right to free speech on their website by not posting my review that I submit because of these “faults”. How is any of the above interactions any different than giving me a book for free every month in the Kindle First program and “suggesting” I review it? I am under no obligation to write a review, they claim, but it is highly encouraged. I already review both here and on Goodreads, which I know is owned by Amazon, but this smacks of censorship to me. Check out the article for yourself: Amazon’s Strict New Review Policy.

