Net Galley Review: The Pattern Artist by Nancy Moser

FTC DISCLAIMER: I RECEIVED AN E-ARC FROM THE PUBLISHER THROUGH NET GALLEY IN EXCHANGE FOR AN HONEST REVIEW. RECEIPT OF THIS BOOK IN THIS MANNER DOES NOT AFFECT MY OPINION OF THE BOOK OR THE CONTENT OF MY REVIEW!

I’ve never read anything by this author before now, but I can recall my mother working with sewing patterns like the ones described in this story when I was younger, and it drew me into reading this novel.

Annie was a hard character for me to classify. On one hand, she seemed to be a very sheltered woman, and had absolutely no clue for how the world truly worked. On the other hand, she came across as a bit of a snobbish woman, thinking that she was too good for bakery work, or that her friend Iris was too simple for shop work. It felt like she was too proud to turn to others for help, or even turn to God for guidance, which made her moments of faith felt like they were tacked into the story because it had to have an Inspirational aspect.

I felt that Sean was a saint for putting up with Annie’s attitudes and mannerisms! I enjoyed the fact that he remained true to his love for her, and had faith that she would eventually see the light. His faith was much more believable than hers was!

What I truly enjoyed about this book was the descriptions of being a Macy’s shopgirl in the early 1900s, and the descriptions of the Butterick Pattern Company itself. These details really made an impact on the story, and greatly improved it, for I was able to imagine the scenes in my head! I didn’t care for the abrupt ending to the story, and was wanting to know more about the project that Annie had been asked to work on. All things considered, I would definitely recommend this book to others, despite the flaws I personally found within it.

4 stars out of 5.

Leave a Reply

