Older NetGalley Book Review for Beside Still Waters by Tricia Goyer

Normally, I am a big fan of Amish romances, but this one was a miss for me. I could tell that it tied into the author’s Seven Brides for Seven Bachelor’s series in a loose fashion, but I wish that it hadn’t been. I found the references to people and places that I was familiar with from that series very distracting! Not to mention, that it ends with very little resolution and leaves you hanging to find out what happens overall!

I didn’t care for Aaron Zook at all! I felt that he was taking Marianna for granted, and yet when she was gone, almost immediately went looking at another girl to take to wife! He was so quick to believe the worst of Marianna, and yet she’s barely gone and he’s spending time with another!

Marianna tried too hard to please everyone, that she couldn’t fathom anything like time for herself or a close relationship with the Lord. For much of the book, it seemed like she lived with the shadow of her sister’s death’s over her, but I did enjoy seeing her realizations about that by the end of the story.

All things considered, I will give the series another chance and read the next book, but I’m not expecting it to improve.

2 stars out of 5.

2 thoughts on “Older NetGalley Book Review for Beside Still Waters by Tricia Goyer

Comments are closed.