Net Galley Review: A Merciful Death by Kendra Elliot

29986740

FTC DISCLAIMER: I RECEIVED AN E-ARC FROM THE PUBLISHER THROUGH NET GALLEY IN EXCHANGE FOR AN HONEST REVIEW. RECEIPT OF THIS BOOK IN THIS MANNER DOES NOT AFFECT MY OPINION OF THE BOOK OR THE CONTENT OF MY REVIEW!

Having enjoyed the author’s Bone Secrets series previously, I was eager to get my hands on this book! Unfortunately, it didn’t quite live up to my expectations.

Mercy herself was a difficult character to relate to. Much of what we learn about her is given in very stingy details, even when she is talking to estranged family members. We don’t see much of her softer side, and she keeps a lot of secrets, which aids in the not knowing much about her situation.

Truman was a bit more open of a character. We know his motivations for actions, the tragedies in his past, and learn some of his aspirations for the future. We can also see his admiration for Mercy grow over the course of the book.

Unfortunately, it is the plot that gave me the major hang ups. The story felt drug out, and there wasn’t much in the way of actual investigations, just conversations and “interviews”. The romantic aspect was practically non-existent, and mostly one sided. The villain reveal was well done, as what few clues were given in the book did not give it away and I was guessing until the end.

However, it was the prepper aspect of this story that intrigued me. It was a bit of a look into that lifestyle and seemed well thought out and researched. It gave me more insight into a game I had been playing on my tablet!

Overall, the book was good, but I’m not sure I could recommend it as Romantic Suspense. Murder Mystery would definitely qualify, but I preferred the author’s other series to this one. I am interested to see where things go, so I’ll be on the look out for the sequel.

3 stars out of 5

