Goodreads Giveaway Review: Twisted Up by Erin Nicholas

giveawaywinner

FTC DISCLAIMER: I WON A KINDLE COPY OF THIS BOOK FROM AMAZON PUBLISHING THROUGH GOODREADS IN EXCHANGE FOR AN HONEST REVIEW. RECEIPT OF THIS BOOK IN THIS MANNER DOES NOT AFFECT MY OPINION OF THE BOOK OR THE CONTENT OF MY REVIEW!

Reading this author’s work is hit or miss for me, and I had resolved to avoid it overall, until I saw the blurb for this book. I enjoy watching the movie Twister periodically, so I thought I would enjoy this one as well. It was mostly a miss for me.

Jake and Avery have history together, but they wind up going for the cheap hook-ups rather than confront that history head on. I kept feeling that their conflict was contrived, and wanted them to grow up and actually talk to one another, rather than bemoan their hurt feelings over what the other one did! This made me hate their romance overall, and with this being a romance novel, I wound up hating much of the book.

That being said, what really pulled my rating up from the gutter was seeing the aftermath of the disaster. I liked seeing the town in action, pulling together and getting things cleaned up for the big wig visit. I could tell that Jake and Avery’s friends were going to end up together, and I thought that those characters were a bit more interesting than Jake and Avery themselves.

Overall, I found the book rather boring, but I’m willing to give the series one more chance before giving up on it entirely.

3 stars out of 5

