Net Galley Review: To Win Her Back by Mackenzie Crowne

32316668

FTC DISCLAIMER: I RECEIVED AN E-ARC FROM THE PUBLISHER THROUGH NET GALLEY IN EXCHANGE FOR AN HONEST REVIEW. RECEIPT OF THIS BOOK IN THIS MANNER DOES NOT AFFECT MY OPINION OF THE BOOK OR THE CONTENT OF MY REVIEW!

This is the fourth book that I’ve read by this author, and I have to say they really aren’t that memorable. Each of the previous couples in the series has been revisited, including a surprise couple in Tom and Kris, who were supporting characters in the third book in the series. I feel a little cheated because I was looking forward to reading their romance story!

I’ve never really held much interest in V as a character throughout the series, so I was a bit surprised to see her starring in this one. She had a second chance romance appearing to happen with Sam, but her past kept holding her back. I felt that using that as an excuse for not being with Sam was a rather flimsy excuse, until the end of the story where V explained exactly why she ran from Sam.

Sam was a rather wussy hero, because he didn’t fight for V, despite her being the love of his life. They wasted 15 years because he was too proud to chase after her and fight. Not only that, he allowed the town to belittle her, just because of his wounded pride! I couldn’t get behind him as a hero, especially when he went running into another woman’s bed, practically before the sheets cool behind Victoria!

All things considered, this was a short and somewhat emotional read, but it got bogged down by an unbelievable plot twist or two and a rush to the altar.

3 stars out of 5

