Net Galley Review: Tangled Up by Erin Nicholas

FTC DISCLAIMER: I RECEIVED AN E-ARC FROM THE PUBLISHER THROUGH NET GALLEY IN EXCHANGE FOR AN HONEST REVIEW. RECEIPT OF THIS BOOK IN THIS MANNER DOES NOT AFFECT MY OPINION OF THE BOOK OR THE CONTENT OF MY REVIEW!

Having just come from reading the previous book in this series, I was really hoping to get much more in depth with this installment, but instead we got mostly a re-hashing of the events that happened in the previous book, just with different characters. It felt like the author just plugged in the new characters, gave them new backstories, and changed the points of view of the major plot points from the previous novel and went to town with it! I was so bored with the book while reading it!

I had a hard time connecting with Bree overall. I could tell she was an unhealthy character, long before we’re actually told her reasons for acting the way she does. She came across as very immature overall.

Max was somewhat of a redeeming factor for me. I loved the storm chasing science of this book, and he was associated with every part of that. This made me think of the movie Twister, and I enjoyed the snippets of information that I learned because of him.

Overall, I was bored with this entire book. I will abandon the series here, as I think the third book will be yet another re-hashing of the same old events. I’m sorry to say I would not recommend this to others, and I will probably avoid the author in the future.

2 out of 5 stars

