24in48 Readathon and NetGalley Review: Maybe It’s You by Candace Calvert

FTC DISCLAIMER: I RECEIVED AN E-ARC FROM THE PUBLISHER THROUGH NET GALLEY. I VOLUNTARILY OFFER MY HONEST REVIEW OF THE BOOK, THOUGH IT IS NOT EXPECTED OF ME! RECEIPT OF THIS BOOK IN THIS MANNER DOES NOT AFFECT MY OPINION OF THE BOOK OR THE CONTENT OF MY REVIEW!

I’ve been reading this author for quite a while now, and it seems like things really changed at the end of the Grace Medical series. I found I had a lot of problems with the characters in the books and this one was no exception. I’ve hated Sloane since her first introduction, and this book was no exception to that.

To me, Sloane has always been this aloof, selfish character, and while she lost the selfishness, she is still very much an aloof person. We learn a bit of her reasoning behind that, but much of her path to redemption felt like she was just going through the motions because it was what others expected of her, not anything she wanted to do for herself. I felt that she never wanted the redemption, never wanted the close relationship with God, and that she would be perfectly happy moving on when things got too tough for her.

Micah was a hard character for me to understand. I could understand his grieving, and even understand his anger toward people who drank and drove, but it seemed like he took it one step further and hated anyone who drank alcohol at all! It felt irrational, and judgemental. By the end of the book, he even realized that he was being so judgemental!

The relationship between Micah and Sloane felt forced, awkward, and slightly manipulative. Sloane held too much of herself back, having too many secrets that weren’t good for herself. I couldn’t see how they would make it work, with how little Micah knew of Sloane.

While the overall romance plot was lackluster at best, what really kept me interested in this book was the Russian Mafia/Human Trafficking sub-plot. Those characters really got under my skin! I started really caring about what happened to the girls, wondering if they would survive. It shed some light on a murky and ugly topic, and I’m sure it was tough to tackle!

All things considered, I’m rather hesitant to continue to purchase books by the author with how much I’ve disliked these past 4 books. Likely as not, I’ll request from the library first.

3 stars out of 5

#24in48

