NetGalley Review: Playing the Player by Amy Andrews

FTC DISCLAIMER: I RECEIVED AN E-ARC FROM THE PUBLISHER THROUGH NET GALLEY. I VOLUNTARILY OFFER MY HONEST REVIEW OF THE BOOK, THOUGH IT IS NOT EXPECTED OF ME! RECEIPT OF THIS BOOK IN THIS MANNER DOES NOT AFFECT MY OPINION OF THE BOOK OR THE CONTENT OF MY REVIEW!

After the epic success of the previous book in the series with me, I was very excited to read this book! While I didn’t find it as much of a success as the previous installment, I did enjoy reading it overall.

This story focused on the best friend of the heroine of the previous story and Lincoln Quinn. To me, both Linc and Em felt very realistic. They’d been in each other’s orbits for a while now, attraction simmering under the surface, when they finally make the decisions to give in to it. They wound up doing things a little backwards, to my way of thinking, but eventually got to where they should be. I liked the fact that both Em and Linc had things in their pasts that gave them common ground, but those pasts were just different enough to cause a bit of friction.

For me, the love realization and ending felt a bit rushed. I thought they both needed a bit more time with one another in the “dating” portion of their relationship, before heading for the marriage discussion that caused them so much conflict. While Linc eventually wised up, I didn’t like his proposal overall. He knew Em hated her full name, so why would he use it so publicly? It didn’t make much sense to me, save for giving him bragging rights for how much money he spent on the proposal.

All things considered, this was a short, yet solid installment in the series. I can’t wait for the next book!

4 stars out of 5

