NetGalley Review: Be Mine in Good Hope by Cindy Kirk

FTC DISCLAIMER: I RECEIVED AN E-ARC FROM THE PUBLISHER THROUGH NET GALLEY. I VOLUNTARILY OFFER MY HONEST REVIEW OF THE BOOK, THOUGH IT IS NOT EXPECTED OF ME! RECEIPT OF THIS BOOK IN THIS MANNER DOES NOT AFFECT MY OPINION OF THE BOOK OR THE CONTENT OF MY REVIEW!

I’d never read this author prior to the series binge I’ve found myself on lately, so I was pleasantly surprised by what I had read to this point. However, reading this one felt like a total letdown, rather than a natural progression of the series.

Marigold seemed to be the focus of all my troubles with this book. I hated how she kept saying that her return to Good Hope was only temporary, and yet integrate herself more and more into community life. I think it would have kept with the illusion of a temporary situation more if she had said no a few times! I disliked her attitude about Good Hope, because it felt like she was saying that the town was beneath her, much like her sister Fin seemed to do. I kept wanting her to see that she could achieve the kind of success that she was looking for if she stayed in Good Hope!

Cade wasn’t that great of a hero either. He seemed to constantly hedge his bets, never committing to or fighting for what he truly wanted until forced. He came across as very weak willed for most of the book.

What I did enjoy in this story was seeing how the lives of the former couples in the series were progressing. The set up for the final Bloom Sister book was also somewhat interesting. While this wasn’t my favorite book in the series, it was a decent read overall.

3 stars out of 5

