NetGalley Review: Royal Design: A Kindle in Motion Book by Sariah Wilson

FTC DISCLAIMER: I RECEIVED AN E-ARC FROM THE PUBLISHER THROUGH NET GALLEY. I VOLUNTARILY OFFER MY HONEST REVIEW OF THE BOOK, THOUGH IT IS NOT EXPECTED OF ME! RECEIPT OF THIS BOOK IN THIS MANNER DOES NOT AFFECT MY OPINION OF THE BOOK OR THE CONTENT OF MY REVIEW!

I’ve had my shares of ups and downs with this series, but on the whole I’ve enjoyed them. So when I found out that there was going to be a fourth book added to the series when the publisher had opted for no further books, I was overjoyed! Sadly, this book was such a major letdown!

The plot was very contrived. While I realize that plots are supposed to be vehicles for getting a couple together, as a reader I expect to not be aware of it happening! This whole story, I couldn’t lose myself in my imagination of the plot, as I was too aware that it was all a contrived mash up of the fairy tales and wealthy/poor person relationship, and a very poorly executed one at that.

The characters were hard to connect to, as we don’t really get to see a relationship form between them. Even Lemon’s character, whom we’d seen before, was a shallow, two dimensional version of herself! We also don’t get a lot of real closure at the end of the book, it just feels like we’re told what happens and the book ends.

For me, this was not a good installment of the series, and I sincerely hope that there are more to come to redeem the series from ending on this note.

Leave a Reply

