NetGalley Review: Crossing Hearts by Kimberly Kincaid

FTC DISCLAIMER: I RECEIVED AN E-ARC FROM THE PUBLISHER THROUGH NET GALLEY. I VOLUNTARILY OFFER MY HONEST REVIEW OF THE BOOK, THOUGH IT IS NOT EXPECTED OF ME! RECEIPT OF THIS BOOK IN THIS MANNER DOES NOT AFFECT MY OPINION OF THE BOOK OR THE CONTENT OF MY REVIEW!

This is more of a 2.5 star read for me than a 3 star one. I felt it was just a blah type book. I had no motivation to continue reading it, as I wasn’t invested in the characters or the plot line at all. Not even the secondary characters could redeem this book for me!

Emerson was a tough heroine to read about. I didn’t find it believable that she wouldn’t talk to anyone about her diagnosis, and she went out of her way to torture herself so she wouldn’t have to either! It didn’t make any sense to me at all! I get that her parents weren’t the greatest, but she also wasn’t giving them an opportunity to change either, which I found a bit unfair. She also acted the same with Hunter, though she told him more about what was going on. She made the decisions for him in the past, and continued to attempt to control his actions in the present once they reunite. She really soured the book for me! Meanwhile, Hunter seemed like he wouldn’t stand up for himself and fight for the relationship he wanted with Emerson. He finally did something about it all in the end, but it came too little too late for me.

I did like the discussion about farm life and how Emerson’s illness was affecting her, but I think this is a case of this reader not fitting the author’s writing style.

3 stars out of 5

