NetGalley Review: Zero to Sixty by Marie Harte

FTC DISCLAIMER: I RECEIVED AN E-ARC FROM THE PUBLISHER THROUGH NET GALLEY. I VOLUNTARILY OFFER MY HONEST REVIEW OF THE BOOK, THOUGH IT IS NOT EXPECTED OF ME! RECEIPT OF THIS BOOK IN THIS MANNER DOES NOT AFFECT MY OPINION OF THE BOOK OR THE CONTENT OF MY REVIEW!

I’ve been reading this author for a while now, and while most of her books have been great reads for me, something just felt off about this one.

Sam was a good character, but so much about him didn’t add up! Why all the rage and underground fighting? Why was he so taciturn? What made him get into fostering and rescuing pets? Why not abandon his mom, even with his guilt that “this is my mom” evoked? We got little dribs and drabs of this, but not enough to satisfy me.

Also, the underground fighting ring was a missed opportunity for me. We get it mentioned, see one fight, then the cops raid it and shut it down and it is never mentioned again! I could see so much potential for plot threads and twists there!

I felt that Ivy was a bit of a doormat overall, with moments of standing up for herself and what she believed in. She also felt a bit too mousy to be a good fit for Sam and his demons. I did enjoy the fact that she worked at Bodyworks, as that is another series of the author’s that she’s just tied into this universe, and the series responsible for my introduction to the author in the first place.

The book’s issues not withstanding, it was an entertaining and interesting read overall, and fit well into the series and universe as a whole.

3 stars out of 5

