NetGalley Review: The Rawley Family Romances Volume I by Olivia Hardin

FTC DISCLAIMER: I RECEIVED AN E-ARC FROM THE PUBLISHER THROUGH NET GALLEY. I VOLUNTARILY OFFER MY HONEST REVIEW OF THE BOOK, THOUGH IT IS NOT EXPECTED OF ME! RECEIPT OF THIS BOOK IN THIS MANNER DOES NOT AFFECT MY OPINION OF THE BOOK OR THE CONTENT OF MY REVIEW!

I had never heard of this author before reading this anthology, but I wasn’t that impressed with it overall. I honestly doubt I’d read the author again, as I just couldn’t get into the stories at all.

The premise of the stories were good but I struggled hard to get into each one, and often felt that I really wasn’t emotionally invested in the story. The first book’s beginning was slightly confusing, the story drawn out too much to keep my interest in the long run. The main characters really didn’t make much sense to me either. Yes, they have a past, and there’s something obviously major there, but what is it? Random flashbacks of memories thrown in here and there only served to frustrate and confuse me further, rather than actually explaining anything. The motivations for their actions were also equally vague and confusing to me, and it made for very boring reading.

The other books weren’t much better to me. I couldn’t connect with the characters and the plots felt slow moving at best, even with the “catch up” story! They also weren’t all that suspenseful and felt pretentious more so than anything else. Definitely will be avoiding the author in the future!

2 stars out of 5

Leave a Reply

