NetGalley Review: Until You by Denise Grover Swank

FTC DISCLAIMER: I RECEIVED AN E-ARC FROM THE PUBLISHER THROUGH NET GALLEY. I VOLUNTARILY OFFER MY HONEST REVIEW OF THE BOOK, THOUGH IT IS NOT EXPECTED OF ME! RECEIPT OF THIS BOOK IN THIS MANNER DOES NOT AFFECT MY OPINION OF THE BOOK OR THE CONTENT OF MY REVIEW!

After having been greatly annoyed in the first book because of the fact that this series is an undisclosed spin off of the author’s Wedding Pact series, I went into this hoping that this book would move past that and into something completely unrelated, but I felt like I was walking into the middle of things in this book too!

Tyler and Lanie meet at one of the many functions that Brittany has before her wedding. Problem was, I didn’t understand who Brittany and her groom were to Tyler and Lanie and why they didn’t just blow her off when they finally started getting together because of their attraction to one another, especially since it wasn’t a secret that one of the other bridesmaids wanted Tyler back. Yup, I said back, and it should have clued me in that this would be a major angst and drama fest. I began to hate the wedding backdrop, especially with all the deception that Tyler and Lanie felt were necessary to “preserve” their standing in the wedding. I’m honestly not certain that I know why they felt that they had to be so deceitful!

I had a hard time connecting to Tyler and Lanie, and the story really dragged for me because of all the drama and lack of connection to the characters. The ending was again a bit abrupt for me and I was left feeling rather “meh” about the whole book. I don’t think I would consider reading another book by the author, unless I got it from the library or something similar.

3 stars out of 5
Leave a Reply

