Library Love Challenge Review: My Heart Belongs in the Superstition Mountains: Carmela’s Quandary by Susan Page Davis

My Heart Belongs in the Superstition Mountains by Susan Page Davis

This was so much better than the previous book in the series! While I no longer read much historical romance, I do enjoy them upon occasion. I was immediately drawn into this story, and was unable to put it down!

Carmela was a multi-faceted character stuck in horrible circumstances. I appreciated her fortitude and unwillingness to give up or complain about things. She was an inspiring character. Freeland seemed to be a good and honorable character, one who looked past Carmela’s past to who she was trying to be. I was sad to hear about what happened to the brother that tried to bring the two of them together. The story wasn’t preachy at all for being an inspirational romance, and the faith was actually very believable.

The main problem I had with it was that there really wasn’t enough interaction between Carmela and Freeland to warrant declarations of love and proposals of marriage. I would have preferred to see a bit of a courtship between the two of them before marriage was proposed, honestly, but it didn’t detract much from my enjoyment of the story overall. I am very eager to read the next book in the series!

4 out of 5 stars

