NetGalley/St. Martin’s Press ARC Review: Cougar Bait by Evangeline Anderson

cover113584-small

FTC DISCLAIMER: I RECEIVED AN E-ARC FROM THE PUBLISHER THROUGH NET GALLEY. I VOLUNTARILY OFFER MY HONEST REVIEW OF THE BOOK, THOUGH IT IS NOT EXPECTED OF ME! RECEIPT OF THIS BOOK IN THIS MANNER DOES NOT AFFECT MY OPINION OF THE BOOK OR THE CONTENT OF MY REVIEW!

While I really loved the first book in this series, I didn’t find this one as enjoyable as that previous story. Don’t get me wrong, this was an entertaining and engaging story, but it lacked something when compared to that other story.

This story picks up where the first one leaves off, so you definitely can’t read this as a standalone romance. It does have a few triggers for folks, but they weren’t handled in a realistic or careful manner. To me, some of the situations Samantha found herself in were too fantastic to be believable!

Another problem I had with the book was with Samantha herself. She would push Liam away at every opportunity, and yet had no problem using him when she needed to. I also didn’t like how she simply would not compromise with Liam at all! She came off like a total bitch!

I did like Liam and how he tried to care for Samantha, despite her prickly nature. The high handed nature he had in the previous book was less evident here, but did come out when necessary. He did do a few things that came off as rather stupid to me, but he’s male so that comes with the territory sometimes!

The book was a bit action filled and definitely kept my attention. The lead in for the third novel was surprising, and I’m definitely interested in continuing with the series to find out more of what happens in this town!

4 stars out of 5

