NetGalley Review: A Merciful Truth by Kendra Elliot

A Merciful Truth by Kendra Elliot

FTC DISCLAIMER: I RECEIVED AN E-ARC FROM THE PUBLISHER THROUGH NET GALLEY. I VOLUNTARILY OFFER MY HONEST REVIEW OF THE BOOK, THOUGH IT IS NOT EXPECTED OF ME! RECEIPT OF THIS BOOK IN THIS MANNER DOES NOT AFFECT MY OPINION OF THE BOOK OR THE CONTENT OF MY REVIEW!

I was extremely disappointed with this installment! When I left the first book in the series, I was conflicted and on the fence about continuing, so when I found this on Net Galley, I was a bit excited and hesitant at the same time. I knew I enjoyed the author’s other works, but for some reason this series just wasn’t resonating with me.

In this installment, Mercy isn’t as present as she was in the first book. That’s not to say that we don’t see development on her character, because we get what seems to be an information dump on her background, and we do get to see her trying to re-establish relationships with her family. Truman takes center stage in the investigation, but it really doesn’t seem like there is that much of an investigation done, nor was there actually much to grow the relationship between Truman and Mercy to the point of declarations of love.

Not much detail is given about the lifestyle of Doomsday Preppers in this story, and it felt that they were almost mocked in this plot. Even the Anti-Government theme that was taking center stage felt very glossed over. The ending was abrupt and slightly confusing, but overall the book really dragged for me. This installment has put me even more on the fence about the series!

All things considered, it was a suspenseful read, but greatly bogged down in a weak plot, uninteresting theme, and broad leaps in characterization. I’m not sure I would recommend this to others.

2 stars out of 5

