NetGalley Review: Lockdown by Laurie R. King

Lockdown
Lockdown by Laurie R. King

My rating: 2 of 5 stars

FTC DISCLAIMER: I RECEIVED AN E-ARC FROM THE PUBLISHER THROUGH NET GALLEY. I VOLUNTARILY OFFER MY HONEST REVIEW OF THE BOOK, THOUGH IT IS NOT EXPECTED OF ME! RECEIPT OF THIS BOOK IN THIS MANNER DOES NOT AFFECT MY OPINION OF THE BOOK OR THE CONTENT OF MY REVIEW!

It has been many years since I read one of Laurie R. King’s Mary Russell novels, but I remember them very fondly as a wildly enjoyable read. It pains me to say this, but I think Ms. King needs to stick to the Mary Russell series, as every novel I have read that isn’t Mary Russell is very dry and dull in comparison.

This is an ensemble novel, filled with diverse characters, each with their own history and secrets. The story switches points of view very often, and this becomes very confusing, despite the differences in their voices. That POV switching also made the story very choppy and hard to follow. I found that I couldn’t bring myself to care about the characters because of this.

Another problem the POV switching caused for me was a lack of interaction and cohesion between the characters. It took a bit more than half the book for things to get really started interaction-wise and by that point, I was just wanting to get through it as fast as possible. Then, the flashbacks started. It took a disjointed plot and made it worse! The bad thing was, these flashbacks were longer than the events in present day and often times didn’t feel relevant to me.

While I applaud the author for making this a slight tie-in to her other present day series, that was not enough to redeem the book in my eyes. I would not recommend this to others, or purchase a copy for myself.

View all my reviews

