Library Love Challenge Review: Primal Instinct by Janie Crouch

Primal Instinct
Primal Instinct by Janie Crouch

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I’d never heard of this author before now, and having received a newsletter offering a copy of the second book in the series, I thought I’d go back and read this story before that one to see if I would like the author’s style. While this was a good enough story, there were some holes in things that made it difficult for me to truly enjoy it.

Adrienne Jeffries was a bit of a unique heroine, but also a bit of an unlikable one. Descriptions of her abilities weren’t accurate, nor was her ability actually given a name, and thus was not believable for me. She held herself aloof for much of the book, so her romantic feelings weren’t as believable either.

Connor Perigo was a complete jerk, so it was hard for me to believe his transition to love interest. In addition to that his ability to dampen Adrienne’s ability was never explained, which left more questions than answers.

The suspense plot didn’t feel fully developed, and I would have liked to seen more in the killer’s mind. I do have to give the author credit here, because what was there of the suspense was actually very entertaining, full of twists and turns.

Seeing as how this was a first effort by this author, I am definitely willing to give her a second chance and see if she hones her craft any more than this.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

