NetGalley Review: The Drowned Girls by Loreth Anne White

The Drowned Girls
The Drowned Girls by Loreth Anne White

My rating: 2 of 5 stars

FTC DISCLAIMER: I RECEIVED AN E-ARC FROM THE PUBLISHER THROUGH NET GALLEY. I VOLUNTARILY OFFER MY HONEST REVIEW OF THE BOOK, THOUGH IT IS NOT EXPECTED OF ME! RECEIPT OF THIS BOOK IN THIS MANNER DOES NOT AFFECT MY OPINION OF THE BOOK OR THE CONTENT OF MY REVIEW!

This is the second book by the author that I’ve read, and while I remember loving that book, I find myself utterly disappointed by this offering.

My biggest complaint about this book is that it gave me as a reader too much. Too much story, too many characters, too many points of view, too many details, too many character conflicts/issues. I had been so inundated while reading it that I had to take breaks, making it hard for me to remember what was happening at a given time. The story had become so dark, dense and overwhelming that it lost some credibility, because it felt as if the author just threw everything she possibly could into the book for the sake of doing so. I wound up becoming bored with things very quickly, though when I finally got it to open up at around the 60% mark, it took off like a shot and didn’t let up until the end.

Angie was a good heroine, and I could connect with her on certain levels, but not on others. James was easier to relate to, but even then, I wasn’t as invested in him as I wanted to be. The romance angle wasn’t enough for me either, as it felt as if it was fitted into the story rather than actually being a fluid extension of the story.

All things considered, I will check out other books by this author, but I’m not so sure I’ll continue with this particular series.

View all my reviews

