ARC Review: A Shot of Sin by Eden Summers

A Shot of Sin
A Shot of Sin by Eden Summers

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

FTC DISCLAIMER: I RECEIVED AN E-ARC FROM THE AUTHOR. I VOLUNTARILY OFFER MY HONEST REVIEW OF THE BOOK, THOUGH IT IS NOT EXPECTED OF ME! RECEIPT OF THIS BOOK IN THIS MANNER DOES NOT AFFECT MY OPINION OF THE BOOK OR THE CONTENT OF MY REVIEW!

When I was first offered this book, I wasn’t exactly sure what to expect. I’d read several of the author’s books before, but this was something new from her, and while her other books were steamy, delving into erotic territory can change things. Thankfully, this was a pretty decent read overall!

Shay was a bit annoying. For all she said that she loved Leo, she acted like a whiny get when it came to what he enjoyed sexually. Yet, when she gets upset, she winds up lashing out at others in a way to protect herself emotionally. She also had to be in control of everything, and that control was put her at odds with what Leo wanted. Leo was supposed to be this big dominant and yet he seemed so whipped by Shay and her need to control every aspect of the situation between them. I liked his interactions with TJ and Brute and would definitely like to see them both as heroes, but Leo wasn’t that great of a hero for me.

This was a short story, but it didn’t feel that developed to me. There’s not that much interaction within the club, nor do we really know any of the regular members/staff there. It’s more of a backdrop than anything else, and yet it became this big sticking point in the relationship of Shay and Leo. However, the book didn’t focus on sex either, so I’m not sure why the club was that big of a sticking point for Shay. She seemed more like a insanely jealous person than a rational woman.

All things considered, this was an entertaining story, but I hope that it develops further over the course of the series.

View all my reviews

