Net Galley Review: Just the Thing by Marie Harte

Just the Thing
Just the Thing by Marie Harte

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

FTC DISCLAIMER: I RECEIVED AN E-ARC FROM THE PUBLISHER THROUGH NET GALLEY. I VOLUNTARILY OFFER MY HONEST REVIEW OF THE BOOK, THOUGH IT IS NOT EXPECTED OF ME! RECEIPT OF THIS BOOK IN THIS MANNER DOES NOT AFFECT MY OPINION OF THE BOOK OR THE CONTENT OF MY REVIEW!

I went into this book with a good bit of trepidation, as I didn’t really care for the previous book in the series. Thankfully, this book was a bit better than that first one!

Gavin and Zoe are both tortured by deaths that they couldn’t control, but Zoe is coping with it a bit better than Gavin is. Their grief journey made it logical for them to hook up into a relationship, but I was glad that it didn’t dominate their relationship either. I especially liked that they were taking their time and getting to know one another instead of just falling into bed and basing their relationship on sex. I liked seeing the relationship grow over time, as well as seeing Gavin take steps toward moving on from his losses as well.

The cast of secondary characters was good. I did like getting to know Theo and Hope a bit better in this story. We also get more of a blending of the author’s three major contemporary series (The McCauley Brothers, Body Shop Bad Boys, and this one), and this installment reminded me quite a bit of the author’s Body Works series as well. Unfortunately, there was something about the book that didn’t hold my interest, but I can’t really identify what it was. I found it really dragging in spots and had to force myself to keep reading it. I’d hesitate to purchase this for myself, unless it went on sale, and I’d have to think about reading the rest of the series unless I could borrow them from the library.

View all my reviews

