Release Day Review: The Protector by Elin Peer

The Protector
The Protector by Elin Peer

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I’ve never read anything by this author before, nor had I heard of her before I started getting newsletters from her after entering an online giveaway, so I wasn’t sure what to expect from her. I kept meaning to get to the free books that had come with the newsletter, but I hadn’t seemed to find the time before this one dropped onto my Kindle. I went into this very hesitant, but wound up very surprised by the end of it!

This book was a bit unique for me, as it was a bit of a dystopian romance, something that I had previously only found in Young Adult novels. I actually rather enjoyed reading about the societies that had formed after the war. However, I would have liked a bit more of the history of the 400 years in between the war and the book’s setting, because while we did get a good amount of detail, I still had questions that were unanswered at the end of the book.

Christina was an interesting heroine. I loved that she was a historian and archeologist, and was highly amused that she considered Indiana Jones and Lara Croft her heroes and thought they were actual people that lived during our time! This brought an element of humor to the book that it was otherwise lacking. Christine’s views were a bit odd, but I liked watching her adapt and grow in the Northlands.

I think Boulder was a good first hero for the series. I liked that he was kind and caring, both of Christina and of any children he may have fathered. While he was a somewhat typical Nman (Northlands Man abbreviation), this showcased his softer side in a way that his reading romance novels could not.

I liked the cast of supporting characters a lot. I found it very easy to connect with all the characters overall, and was invested in seeing where some of the other threads would lead, so I am definitely eager to read more of the series! The only other thing that I didn’t care for besides the abbreviated history timeline was the fact that one of the plot threads in this story was left unresolved. I’m hoping it will be resolved in the next book.

All things considered, this is a quick and engaging read that I found hard to put down, despite having a massive migraine while reading it! I would definitely recommend checking this out!

View all my reviews

