NetGalley Review: Don’t Call Me Sweetheart by Codi Gary

33962041

FTC DISCLAIMER: I RECEIVED AN E-ARC FROM THE PUBLISHER THROUGH NET GALLEY. I VOLUNTARILY OFFER MY HONEST REVIEW OF THE BOOK, THOUGH IT IS NOT EXPECTED OF ME! RECEIPT OF THIS BOOK IN THIS MANNER DOES NOT AFFECT MY OPINION OF THE BOOK OR THE CONTENT OF MY REVIEW!

I have to admit, the premise of this story was rather intriguing to me, and since it was written by an author I’d enjoyed previously, I had to give it a chance. I am very pleased that it lived up to my early expectations!

Marley was a rather annoying heroine overall, but I could understand where her attitudes were coming from. Her most annoying trait was the constant push/pull that she kept doing with Luke, though I did like how she tried to make the best of a bad situation with Sonora. I loved how quickly she became friends with Kendall, and how she eventually stood up for herself with her boss.

Luke was a good hero, and I enjoyed the fact that he had a tie to one of the author’s other series, but I really hated how little he seemed to trust Marley, and how much he demanded the truth from her. I do wish we had seen a bit more of his life in L.A. and how he came about to be where he was in the end of the book, but he was left in a good spot overall.

The secondary characters were well fleshed out, and I did enjoy seeing the small town’s daily life. The villainess of the story was one you loved to hate, and I felt her punishment was really glossed over. I would have liked to see a more personal apology from either her or her parents, but after their actions at the end of the book regarding Kendall, I didn’t see them changing their ways.

All things considered, I really enjoyed this story and am eager to read the next book in the series!

4 stars out of 5

Leave a Reply

